/NPR’s All Songs Considered hosts the Avett Brothers; I try not to cry at my desk

Last semester, Joseph and I had the opportunity to see the Avett Brothers perform in Chattanooga (without a doubt the best show I’ve ever seen), and ever since, I’ve been impatiently waiting for the August 8 release date of their newest album I and Love and You.

Gratefully, NPR has thrown me an aural morsel in the form of its Tiny Desk Concert series, the most recent installment of which features the Avett Brothers.  The three-song set, played behind the desk of All Songs Considered host Bob Boilen, showcases two tracks from their forthcoming release (“Laundry Room” and  “Down With the Shine”),  as well as one of my all-time favorites, “Bella Donna.” It was the one song I wanted to but did not get to hear in Chattanooga, and I thought I was going to cry while watching the video at work.

Seriously, watch it and see if you don’t get a little misty.

Other noteworthy segments in the series include sets from Horse Feathers, Great Lake Swimmers’ Tony Dekker,  and Thao Nguyen (huge girl crush), all of which can be found here.

All Songs Considered hosts a new Tiny Desk Concert every week; yet another addition to my already cluttered RSS feed.

Leave a Reply

